Author Topic: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......  (Read 13354 times)

kristfin

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« on: August 25, 2014, 03:18:41 AM »
hi all,

I am finally trying out the RFDuino, which i bough some months ago.

I followed the installation guide, installed arduino 1.5.7, the RFduino stuff from github and the FTDI drivers.

When i try to run the Blinky demo (or any other demo for that matter), i always get this error:
Code: [Select]
Sketch uses 19,244 bytes (14%) of program storage space. Maximum is 131,072 bytes.
Global variables use 1,704 bytes of dynamic memory.
get
fail.......fail.......fail.......
The port and the board appear in the Arduino UI and everything looks like it should -- apart from this error.
I've tried this out on windows 7 - 64bit and on OSX 10.9.4, but no dice

any ideas?

cheers, from iceland.

AKA

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2014, 10:33:42 AM »
Hi, I'm afraid I don't have a lot of detailed debug help to offer, but I do recognize that message - I only ever see it when the FTDI board can't see the RFduino it should be connected to.

Are you using the RFDuino USB dongle, or are you using another FTDI board and connecting an RFDuino using jumpers? (I ask because if you're using jumpers, try swapping TX and RX).

Good luck!

AKA

chris1seto

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2014, 12:47:18 PM »
What USB to serial adapter are you you using? Make sure to include a series cap on the reset line if you're not using the stock RFduino USB serial board.

kristfin

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2014, 04:52:34 AM »
I'm using the usb  board that came in my rfduino box.  it doesn't matter if i use the usb board with the metal usb casing (RFD22121) or the one without (RFD22124).  i always get this error.

i don't have any problems with regular arduino boards.

its pretty sad, I'm working on a proof of concept BLE solution and wanted to cut a lot of corners using this device.

tolson

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 844
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Thomas Olson Consulting
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2014, 06:04:13 AM »
What happens if you just plug in the RFduino USB dongle with nothing hooked to it except connect the GPIO0 to GPIO1. Then using the arduino serial monitor try typing some stuff and see if it is echoed back.

kristfin

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2014, 07:06:04 AM »
i get the echo and as expected some error when trying to upload sketch

lsnyman

  • RFduino Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2014, 08:54:06 AM »
Quote
I've tried this out on windows 7 - 64bit and on OSX 10.9.4, but no dice
Do you mean that you tried it on a separate Windows computer or just on your MAC as a Virtual Machine?
Can you confirm your folder structure is Arduino/Contents/Resources/Java/Hardware/Arduino/RFduino?

kristfin

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2014, 09:12:39 AM »
tried on two different machines.  no virtual machines.
i installed according to the github page

lsnyman

  • RFduino Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2014, 01:02:13 PM »
I did not have Arduino 1.5.7 on my Mac, so I installed it and installed RFduino Software as per instructions. Everything works fine.
At this point, it seems you may have a bad RFduino module is all i can think of. Seems your USB module is working.
Do you only have 1 RFduino?

tolson

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 844
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Thomas Olson Consulting
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2014, 01:49:52 PM »
Let's see if you can upload a hex file manually. Are you using a 32 bit or 64 bit OSX?

For 64 bit...
RFDLoader -q <usbport> <.hexfile>

On my 32 bit MAC, I have to use the RFDLoader32
RFDLoader32 -q <usbport> <.hexfile>

NOTE: your listing shows RFDLoader32 as not executable. To make your RFDLoader32 executable...
chmod 755 RFDLoader32

Here is a hex file for blinking LED... b.hex

kristfin

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2014, 01:40:28 AM »
still no dice

ynotirl

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2015, 10:56:58 AM »
I found this error also but i had put a wire on one of the tx or rx pins.
kristfin if this is still an issue check the usb board or the rfduino for errors on the board. Or even try a different rfduino.

jlgrumbach

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2015, 06:07:31 AM »
Did you ever resolve this issue?  I am having the same error message and I have tried everything on this thread, tried on a PC and a Mac and even tried to separate RFduino boards. 

Thanks,

tolson

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 844
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
    • Thomas Olson Consulting
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2015, 09:55:03 AM »
Did you ever resolve this issue?  I am having the same error message and I have tried everything on this thread, tried on a PC and a Mac and even tried to separate RFduino boards. 

Thanks,
Need to know which version of Arduino IDE. And which version of RFduino library. And what paths.
Also would be handy to know which USB and RFduino Shield you are working with. And then what device the USB
is seen as on your computer.

gduval

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: get\r\nfail.......fail.......fail.......
« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2015, 11:58:08 AM »
I am also having this problem... tried everything here as well as checked the Reset on my RFDuino, and the TXD and RXD lines.  Looks like I am getting  some TXD back from the RFDUINO but I get this dreaded fail ...fail ...fail message ( sounds like "exterminate" to me).

I am running off a windows 7 HP Zbook system. The IDE I am running is  Arduino 1.5.7. I am using the USB shield (RFD22121)  and RFDuino (RFD22102).

On my colleague's machine ( identical to mine)... it WORKS!  I've tried swapping out sheilds, I also tried reloading a new Arduino IDE, an FTDI driver, rebuilt my entire Zbook operating system... and even banged my head against the keyboard.

Please provide a more comprehensive solution.

Thanks,

George

 

anything