Author Topic: Over-the-air programming with RFduino  (Read 6559 times)

Abhishek Bhatt

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« on: March 25, 2014, 12:34:17 PM »
Does RFduino platform supports/allows over-the-air programming?? I require this feature for the software interface of a wearable device that I am buiding. Please reply asap.

AKA

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 02:40:45 PM »
Nope, as far as I know you need access to the reset, tx, and rx pins (plus power) to program the device.

mkay

  • RFduino Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 02:46:33 PM »
AKA is correct, currently you can only load code through the UART.

mtnscott

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

lsnyman

  • RFduino Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2014, 09:33:45 AM »
Mkay
Can you advise if RFduino are working on this? As it seems to use the S110 it should be possible to implement?
This is a very needed feature for any BLE real world product.

Thanks

SamDecrock

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2015, 05:35:40 AM »
Any updates on this?

ichbinsnur

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2015, 06:03:33 AM »
Mkay
Can you advise if RFduino are working on this? As it seems to use the S110 it should be possible to implement?
This is a very needed feature for any BLE real world product.

Thanks

May be handy for testing purposes, but do you really want to allow anyone that has the OTA programming tools to reprogram your devices when tey are in field?
No good idea.

cheers,

Christian

SamDecrock

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2015, 01:30:32 AM »
Mkay
Can you advise if RFduino are working on this? As it seems to use the S110 it should be possible to implement?
This is a very needed feature for any BLE real world product.

Thanks

May be handy for testing purposes, but do you really want to allow anyone that has the OTA programming tools to reprogram your devices when tey are in field?
No good idea.

cheers,

Christian

I don't really care. If the user does this, he voids his warranty so it's his problem ;-)


ichbinsnur

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2015, 09:27:40 AM »
I don't really care. If the user does this, he voids his warranty so it's his problem ;-)

Right, if the USER does!
But what if someone else does? ......

SamDecrock

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2015, 05:31:14 AM »
Stuff gets hacked all the time ;-)

Other BLE devices (Fitbit, UP, Anki, ...) get updates over the air too.

scytacki

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2015, 06:30:59 AM »
I'd also like over-the-air programming. We've already needed customers to ship back our device twice because it needed to be reprogrammed. If our app could do the re-programming it would make so much more sense.  To add to the list of reprogrammable BLE devices: FlowerPower and SensorTag

For security it would be best if the developer could add a private key stored in the rfduino flash and this key is used to verify a signature on the incoming code. Since the sketch can already write to Flash, I suspect I could hack this in now. A 'bootloading' sketch would start up and then jump to a program stored in flash. The bootloading sketch would support updating this program over the air. I don't have time to do that though, but perhaps someone else does.

ichbinsnur

  • RFduino Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2015, 08:14:19 AM »
The upcoming Simblee device already has OTA programming.
So i think it might come for the RFduino too.

The bootloader is already there, it just isn't open....

antonioaff

  • RFduino Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Over-the-air programming with RFduino
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2015, 07:00:49 AM »
any news about this feature?

 

anything